When a client no longer needs scheduled services, it is typically recommended that you cancel the event rather than delete it. This ensures the event history can be easily accessed, and any financial records tied to the event will not be affected. Time To Pet Facility makes cancelling events simple for both clients and Admins.
IMPORTANT: Time To Pet will be sunsetting un-invoiced events in Time To Pet Facility on August 10, 2026. Existing un-invoiced events will not be impacted by this change. New events that are created after this feature has been sunset will automatically generate an invoice, just as they do in our In-Home product.
To locate existing un-invoiced events, you can use the Un-Invoiced Visits report in the Reporting > Scheduling section of your Admin Dashboard. You can add these events to an invoice in the Un-Invoiced Events section of the Client Hub by clicking Invoice Events at the top of the page. A list of all the un-invoiced events for the selected client will appear in a new window, allowing you to check the ones you'd like to move onto a new invoice. Once no un-invoiced events are left, that tab will be removed from the Client Hub. For more information, please see our help article on Understanding Invoicing In Time To Pet Facility.
IN THIS ARTICLE
Check out this video from our Customer Experience team on Cancelling And Deleting Events In Time To Pet Facility!
How To Cancel A Scheduled Event
To change an event's status to Cancelled, follow these steps:
1. From your company's Scheduler, click on the event you want to cancel. Then, click Cancel (or Edit Event, if there are other changes you may need to make before cancelling the event) in the Event Info pop-up that appears:
2. A new window will open. If you clicked on Cancel, you will be asked to confirm if you want to proceed with the event's cancellation. Choose Yes, Cancel This Event to finalize it:
3. You will then be asked how you would like to process the cancellation. You can choose Full Charge, if you want to charge your client the full rate of the cancelled service; Do Not Charge, if you don't want to charge a cancellation fee to your client; Percentage Of Cost, if you only want to charge your client for a portion of their cancelled service; or Flat Rate, if you have a set cancellation fee that you charge when your clients cancel a service:
Note: The default cancellation fee that you set in the Settings > Invoicing & Payments > Invoice Settings section of your account will be selected initially when cancelling the event, unless you have set up other Automatic Cancellation Fees that fit the cancelled service better. For example, if you have a rule set up that clients are charged full price for services cancelled less than 48 hours in advance, but your company's default cancellation fee is do not charge, the system will initially display Full Price if the service is being cancelled less than 48 hours before it is scheduled to begin.
4. Click Confirm to process the cancellation once you're ready. The event's status will immediately update to Cancelled and any fees you assigned will be reflected on the event's invoice.
5. If you select Edit Event, make the necessary changes, and then click Cancel in the bottom left corner of the Edit Event window to process the event's cancellation:
6. At this point, you will be taken through steps two through four to confirm the cancellation, choose a cancellation fee to charge (if any), and fully process it. Upon doing so, the event's status will immediately update to Cancelled and any fees you assigned will be reflected on the event's invoice.
Un-cancelling A Cancelled Event
If you cancel an event and need to un-cancel it, navigate to the event on the calendar, click on it, and then select the Edit Event button.
In the Edit Event window, click the Uncancel button:
To confirm that you wish to to un-cancel the event, click Yes, Uncancel Event when prompted:
How Cancelled Events Appear In Facility
In Time To Pet Facility, you can still see cancelled events almost everywhere they appeared before being cancelled. However, they will appear differently to indicate at a glance that they are cancelled events.
For example, in a client's Client Hub, the event will be greyed out in the Status column, and the event's status will be listed as Cancelled:
On the invoice the event is on, a note will be added to the description stating that it's been cancelled:
On the Scheduler, the event will be greyed out to signal that the event has been cancelled:
Clicking on the event will also show the event's status at the top of the Event Info pop-up:
You can also filter by cancelled events on the Scheduler:
Deleting An Event
When clicking to cancel an event, you can also choose to delete it instead. To delete events, locate the event on the calendar, and then click Cancel when the Event Info window pops up:
You will be asked to confirm the cancellation of the event. Click the Delete Instead button:
You will then be prompted once more to confirm you wish to delete instead of cancelling it. Click Yes, Delete This Event to finalize the action:
Note: As noted in the screenshot above, deleting an event permanently removes it from both a client’s invoice and schedule. It will be as if the event was never scheduled, and it cannot be undone. If you prefer to have a record of the event being scheduled, we recommend cancelling it instead, as it will still remain on your Scheduler and on the client's invoice.














