Skip to main content

Facility: Best Practices for Removing A Package

Learn best practices for removing a Package in Time To Pet Facility.

Written by Katie

There may be times when a client has a Package that is partially redeemed, and they won’t be using the remaining services from it. Whether you want to create an open payment for the services they did not use, refund the client for the unused services, or you want to absorb the cost of the Package, you need to first remove it from their account so that they can’t redeem any more services from it.


Steps To Removing A Package

The only way to remove a Package from a client’s account is to void the Package’s invoice, but voiding the invoice would also delete any services that have already been redeemed from the Package. So, the first thing you need to do is move any services that have already been redeemed onto a new invoice.

  1. Open the Client Hub for the client account you wish to remove the Package from. Navigate to the Packages tab here to identify the Package's invoice number:

    screenshot of packages tab in client hub with boxes around the packages tab and the invoice number

  2. Now that you have identified the Package's invoice number, navigate to the Invoiced Events tab to start moving the events on the Package's invoice to a new invoice. Once you have found the events that need to be moved, if you would like to move the events to an existing invoice on the client's account, click the checkmark to the left of the event:

    screenshot of invoiced events tab in the client hub with arrows pointing at the invoiced events tab at the top of the page and at the checkmark to the left of the package event

  3. After clicking the checkmark, select the Move [X] Selected To A Different Invoice button that will now appear at the top of the Invoiced Events tab:

    screenshot of the invoiced events tab in the client hub with an arrow pointing at the "move 1 selected to a different invoice"

  4. Now, choose which existing invoice you would like to move them to from the dropdown menu and then click Move to complete the process:

    screenshot of invoiced events tab with a box around the dropdown menu containing the existing invoices you can move the event(s) onto

  5. If you would like to move the events onto a brand new invoice instead, what you will need to do is click Edit on one of the redeemed Package events from the Invoiced Events tab. This will bring up the Edit Event window:

    screenshot of invoiced events tab in the client hub with a box around the checked off package event

  6. From here, you will see the current invoice number that the event is assigned to and the name of the Package. Click Change to the right of this number, select the New Invoice option from the dropdown menu, and then click Move Event to move it off the Package invoice and onto the new invoice. The new invoice number will be reflected at the top:

    screenshot of edit event window with a box around the new invoice number assigned at the top of the window

  7. If needed, once you have moved the event onto the brand new invoice, refer back to steps two through four to move any remaining services in bulk.

Once you have finished moving the services onto a new invoice, please note that the services that were claimed from the Package will be priced at the regular rate for those services and will not reflect any discount that was part of the Package.

If you want those services to reflect the Package’s discounted rate, you can manually edit their prices directly on the invoice:

view of an invoice with arrow pointing to an edit icon

Just be sure to save your changes!

invoice line item with a box around the "amount" field

Final Step: Voiding the Package's Invoice

Once you have moved all of the scheduled services from the Package onto a new invoice, you can void the invoice containing the Package itself to remove the Package from the client’s account. Navigate to the client's Packages tab in their Client Hub. Click on the invoice number of the Package under the Invoice column:

screenshot of packages tab in the client hub with boxes around the invoice number and the packages tab at the top of the window

This will open up the Edit Invoice screen. From here, navigate to the bottom of the invoice. To void the invoice, click the red Void This Invoice button:

buttons for voiding and locking an invoice

This will remove the Package from the client's account entirely.

Applying Open Payments from the Removed Package

Once the invoice is voided, the payment formerly applied to the Package will be removed, and an open payment will be created on the client's account. You can apply this open payment to the new invoice with the services that you moved from the Package or any other open invoices on the client's account. To do this, navigate to your Bulk Invoicing > Apply Open Payments tab:

view of the bulk invoicing page with apply open payments tab open

Any remaining amount from the open payment can either be left on the client’s account to be applied toward a future invoice or refunded to the client. For instructions on how to refund this, see our help article on How To Issue A Refund.

Note: Learn more about applying and viewing Open Payments in our help article, Facility: Applying Credits & Open Payments.

Did this answer your question?